Point 4 – Mail-In Ballot Voting System

The RM has passed a new Election Bylaw which now includes the option for all eligible voters to vote via mail-in ballots. To participate voters must register in person at the RM Office in Canora.  Note, that for RM elections, eligible voters do not have to be permanent residents of Crystal Lake or even live in Saskatchewan.  Eligible voters must be:
1) a Canadian citizen;
2) at least 18 years old; and
3) and only ONE of:
            – a registered owner of property in the RM (name on the title); or
            – the spouse of a registered owner as described above; or
            – a permanent resident in the RM for the three consecutive months prior to the election
In some instances, where there is multiple ownership of a residence, there may be 6, 7, 8 or even more eligible voters, especially where multiple family members share in the ownership.  The next RM election is November 9, 2020 for the Reeve position.  To participate in the mail-in ballot, you must register prior to the Advance Poll and in adequate time to mail out, receive, and return the mail-in ballot by Election Day.